Skip to main content area Skip to main navigation Skip to institutional navigation Skip to footer

Visual and Performing Arts

Associated Organizations & Clubs

image

On Stagers Dramatic Society

Students in all departments along with guest artists, may choose to participate in either Departmental productions and/or productions of the Onstagers Dramatic Society, a student-run theatrical group. For more information, contact Kevin Welch, president, at welchkt@merrimack.edu

Past Shows Include: 

Campus Galleries 

Students may connect and work with the college’s on-campus gallery – the McCoy Gallery in the Rogers Center for the Arts.   The  gallery hosts various artistic exhibits monthly and, in the late part of the spring semester, showcase student art.  For more information contact Molly Canyes at canyesm@merrimack.edu or Kevin Salemme, media center director, at salemmek@merrimack.edu 

Concert Choir  

he concert choir sings a wide range of choral music, from classical to Broadway to contemporary.  The group performs a solo concert at the end of each semester, as well as appearing at various events both on and off campus. Directed by Joseph Gori (gorij@merrimack.edu).

Mackapella

The college’s auditioned 16-voice a capella group.  This student-led group sings the best of contemporary a capella music and performs at various events throughout the year. Contact Julia Thompson, the student president of Mackapella for information  at thompsonj@merrimack.edu

Merrimack Schola  

This group, open to all singers and instrumentalists in the Merrimack community, plays and sings at Mass and chapel services on campus, as well as interfaith events.  Musicians from all faiths or no faith are welcome to join.  Directed by Hugh Hinton, hintonh@merrimack.edu

Jazz Ensemble 

Merrimack’s concert jazz band performs onstage in the Rogers Center twice a year, as well as at other events.  The group plays a range of jazz music, from classic to contemporary.   Students have the opportunity to learn the fundamentals of improvisation, while also playing in a section using sheet music.

Directed by Charles Collinscollinsc@merrimack.edu.

Pep Band

This instrumental group represents the student body in sound and spirit at all home and playoff Men’s Hockey games.  The ensemble rehearses once a week and is open to all majors.  The band aims to create a fun and exciting atmosphere at the Division I hockey games!  Music ranges from “Seven Nation Army” by the White Stripes to “Take on Me” by A-ha!  Directed by Anthony Beatrice, beatricea@merrimack.edu.

Dance Team

Contact:  Megan Folino, folinom@merrimack.edu

Dance Club

Contact: Kathryne Beagan, beagank@merrimack.edu

 

Jazz Ensemble, Concert Choir, Pep Band, Certain On-Stagers productions, and the Merrimack Schola can all be taken for course credit! If you are interested in this, you can’t register on your own, but speak to the director of the group.

 

 

Click on the show titles to be re-directed to Production Photographs